DT Aaron Donald gets a big raise from the Los Angeles Rams in a reworked contract

All-Pro defensive tackle Aaron Donald He returns to the Los Angeles Rams with a big raise that will make him the highest paid non-quarterback in the NFL.

The Rams reworked Donald’s deal to give him a $40 million raise over the past three years of his current contract, sources told ESPN’s Adam Schefter, making him the first non-quarterback to top $30 million a season. The amended deal brings the total value of Donald’s contract to $95 million over three years.

Sources said the deal, negotiated by agent Todd France, includes $65 million guaranteed in the first two years of the contract and is structured in such a way that Donald can either retire or return for the 2024 season for an additional $30 million guaranteed. shifter.

A source told ESPN’s Jeremy Fowler that the reworked contract includes a no-trade clause.

Sources told Shifter that Donald, 31, was taking his body and is expected to sign the contract later on Monday. The mandatory Little Rams starts on Tuesday.

Donald had indicated on the “I’m an Athlete” podcast last week that his return for the 2022 season was conditional on getting a new deal and that he would be “at peace” with his career if no deal was reached.

The three-time defensive player of the year earned the Rams a win over the Cincinnati Bengals in Super Bowl LVI when he pressed the quarterback. Joe Borough In a fourth-quarter foul down late in the fourth quarter.

See also  St. Louis Cardinals Albert Pujols, Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers for the 2022 MLB All-Star Game

Donald had 12.5 sacks in the regular season and then followed that up with 3.5 more sacks in the playoffs during the Rams’ run to the Super Bowl.

In eight seasons, Donald owned 98 bags. He has had six seasons with no fewer than 10 sacks – the second most by a key in-house factor since the sacks became official in 1982, behind only John Randle, who has had nine such seasons.

He was selected to the Pro Bowl in every NFL season and was a first-time All-Pro pick seven times. He is one of three defensive players since the 1970 merger to earn the Pro Bowl selection in each of the first eight NFL seasons, along with Hall of Famers Lawrence Taylor (10) and Derek Thomas (9).

ESPN statistics and information contributed to this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.